Using Your Class Code / Group Code

Your Class Code / Group Code is the quickest way for students and other teachers to join your Class/Group. The Code is required for students to Sign Up for Edmodo on their own (they must enter the Code when creating their account).

* Make sure you never share an Unlocked Class Code in an unsecured location. Anyone with the Unlocked Class Code can join your Class.

You can locate the Code in the header of your Class/Group (near the top of the Class/Group page). You can click on the Class/Group Code text  to open the Invite people window where you can Lock, Unlock, or Reset the Code. 

Click here to jump to a section:

 

To Share a Class Code / Group Code: 

  1.  From the Home page, click on the desired Class/Group on the left "My Classes"/"My Groups" sidebar. 
  2. In the Class/Group header, click on the "Class Code" text.  classcode.png
  3. In the Invite people window, on the "Share Class Code" tab, the Code options display. Click the "copy" icon Copy.png to copy the Code. 

 

class_code_2.png

class_code_3.png

 

 

To Lock, Unlock, or Reset a Class Code / Group Code: 

  1.  From the Home page, click on the desired Class/Group on the left "My Classes"/"My Groups" sidebar. 
  2. In the Class/Group header, click on the "Class Code" text.  classcode.png
  3. In the Invite people window, on the "Share Class Code" tab, the Code options display.
    • To toggle a Code from Locked to Unlocked or vice versa, click the slider
    • To Reset a Code, click the "three dots" icon three_dots.png , then select "Reset Code."

Learn more about Locking, Unlocking, and Resetting Class Codes / Group Codes here

 

class_code_2.png

class_code_4.png

 

 

Here are a some things to keep in mind when using a Class Code / Group Code:  

  • A teacher can Lock, Unlock, or Reset the Code at any time.
  • Students can use both Locked and Unlocked Class Code to Sign Up for Edmodo and create their account. 
    • When your Class Code /Group Code is Unlocked, any student or teacher can instantly join your Class/Group. For this reason, it is recommended to only securely share your Class Code / Group Code.
    • When a Locked Code is used to sign up for Edmodo, the student will enter an approval queue (becoming a Pending Member). The student will be able to register, but the teacher must accept the Pending Member before they are admitted into the Class/Group. 
  • Students and other teachers can use both a Locked and Unlocked Class Codes to Join a Class/Group
    • When your Class Code /Group Code is Unlocked, students and teachers can instantly join your Class/Group. For this reason, it is recommended to only securely share your Class Code / Group Code.
    • When a Locked Code is used to join a Class/Group, the requesting student or teacher will enter an approval queue (becoming a Pending Member). The teacher must accept the Pending Member before they are admitted into the Class/Group.
  • Once a Code has been Reset, students and other teachers will not be able to use the prior Code to join a Class/Group. Generally, it is not necessary to Reset your Code unless it becomes compromised (e.g. your Code has been shared in an unsecured location).  
  • Class Codes / Group Codes aren't the only way a student or teacher can join a Class/Group. Here are some other methods that a student or teacher can use to join a Class/Group. 
    •  PDF Handout (Recommended if you need to provide printed instructions to students or send instructions home).
    • Join URL Link (Recommended if you need to share a Class/Group invitation digitally).
    • Enter their info directly (Recommended if you prefer to create student accounts ahead of time).