Lock, Unlock, or Reset Your Class/Group Code (Teacher)

Your Class/Group Code is the secure way students and other teachers can join your Class/Group. It's also needed for students to Sign Up for Edmodo and create their account. Providing students or other teachers the Code is the quickest way to have them join your Class/Group.

To keep your Class/Group secure, Codes automatically Lock 14 days after creating a Class/Group or 14 days after Resetting the codeLocked Codes can still be used to join a Class/Group. When a Locked Code is used to join a Class/Group, the requesting student or teacher will enter an approval queue (becoming a Pending Member). The teacher must accept the Pending Member before they are admitted into the Class/Group. 

A teacher can locate the Code in the header of your Class/Group (near the top of the page). The code be Locked, Unlocked, or Reset at any time.

To  Lock a Code:

    •  In the header of your Class/Group (near the top of the page),  click the Class/Group Code text.
    • In the window that opens, Click the slider to toggle the Class/Group from "Unlock Code" to "Lock Code". 

 lock.gif

 

 

To Unlock a Code:

    •  In the header of your Class/Group (near the top of the page),  click the Class/Group Code text.
    • In the window that opens, Click the slider to toggle the Class/Group from "Lock Code" to "Unlock Code". 

unlock.gif

 

To Reset a Code:

    •  In the header of your Class/Group (near the top of the page),  click the Class/Group Code text.
    • Click the "three dots" icon Screen_Shot_2020-05-14_at_7.27.24_PM.png , then select "Reset Code."

Generally, it is not necessary to Reset your Code unless it becomes compromised (e.g. your Code has been shared in an unsecure location).  

reset.gif

 

Note: Students can use a Locked or Unlocked Class Code to Sign Up for Edmodo and create their account. When a Locked Code is used to join a Class/Group, the requesting student or teacher will enter an approval queue (becoming a Pending Member). The teacher must accept the Pending Member before they are admitted into the Class/Group.