Lock, Unlock, or Reset Your Class/Group Code (Teacher)

Your Class/Group Code is the key for students to join a Class/Group or create an account. To prevent any unwanted users from joining your Class/Group, these Codes automatically lock after 14 days of creating a the class/group or resetting the code. If a locked code or old code is used, a request to join the class/group will be sent to the teacher for their approval. Please read the following instructions to manually lock or unlock a code.

Note: Teachers can access their Code through the third right column or through the Settings.

To manually lock a code:

    • Go to the class or group's main page, and click the the Settings button. Then click the open "Lock" icon to the left of the Code.
    • Or, select the down arrow button next to the Code in the third right column and select Lock.

To reset a code without locking it:

    • Go to the class or group's main page, and click the the Settings button. Then click the down arrow to the right of the code, then click "Reset." 
    • Or, select the down arrow button next to the Code in the third right column and select "Reset Code."

To unlock a code,

    • Go to the class or group's main page, and click the closed "Lock" icon to the left of the word "LOCKED." This will generate a brand new code
    • Or, select the down arrow button next to the Code in the third right column and select Unlock.

Note: Students can still use locked codes to join a class/group, but they will not be joined to the class/group automatically. The owner will have to approve their join request before they are added to the class/group.

Lock_Unlock_Code.png