Teachers can invite members to join their Classes/Groups in two ways: by using the Class/Group Code or the Join URL. To determine which join method that is best for you and your students, it is important to understand the differences between the two. Learn more about the different ways to invite members to your Class/Group.
Class/Group Codes are private and sensitive information that, when unlocked, gives immediate membership to your Class/Group to anyone who uses it (like giving them the key to a locked door). As anybody who uses an unlocked Code is added in to your Class/Group right away, the Code should only be given out privately to individuals you want to join. For example, passing it out to students in class, emailing it to students, or writing it on the white board for your students (and erasing it afterwards) are secure ways to share your Class/Group Code. However, posting and sharing your Class/Group Code on Twitter or another public web page is not recommended as unwanted members may use it to join.
Codes lock automatically after two weeks to ensure that the owner maintains control over who uses the Code to join. After a Code has been locked, it can still be used to join. However, when a member uses a locked Code, they will be placed in an approval queue where the Class/Group owner will receive a notification of the join request and has the option to approve or deny the join request. If you would like students to be able to join your Class/Group without your approval after the Code has been locked, you can easily unlock the Code at any time. You can also reset, or generate a newCode that students can use to join. Resetting the Code will render the old Code inactive and students will no longer be able to join the Class/Group using an old Code.
The Join Group URL
The Join URL is a more open way of inviting people to join your Class/Group and requires the owner to approve membership requests (like they are knocking on the door of your classroom). The Join URL can be shared publicly via your website, blog, or Twitter account as all requests used with the Join URL will automatically be sent to the owner to approve or deny and therefore granting the owner 100% control over who enters their Class/Group, which is why it can be shared publicly without worries.
Join URLs can be used whether a user has an existing account or still needs to create one. Once the user is logged in or created their account, they will see a pop-up that says they have requested to join the Class/Group. This will confirm that they have been added to an approval queue and must wait for the Owner or a Co-teacher to approve the join request.
- Both Class/Group Codes and Join URLs can be used to join Classes/Groups
- Both are shared by the Class/Group
- Both are located in the top central panel of the Class/Group
- Codes should NOT be shared publicly whereas Join URLs can be shared publicly
- Codes, when unlocked, allow users to join without needing approval. Join URLs always requires the owner's approval.
- Codes can be reset to generate a new Code. Join URLs always stay the same.
- Codes can be used to register for a new Student account. Join URLs cannot be used to sign-up.