Set All Group Members to Read-Only (Teacher)

Many teachers choose to set their entire class to read-only status if their students are still learning about digital citizenship. Once a Group is set to read-only, students can see everything their teacher posts to the Group, but they cannot post directly to the Group; they can only send direct messages to the teacher, submit assignments and quizzes, and respond to polls. To change an entire Group to read only, follow these steps:

  1. Select the Group from the left Groups Sidebar.
  2. From the Group’s page, click the “Members” tab.
  3. At the top of the page, click the "Member Options."
  4. Select “Read-Only."

You can take all group members off Read-Only at any time by clicking on "Member Options" and selecting “Contributor."  

Note: If you only would like to set individual students to read only, please see Set an Individual Member to Read Only.