Set All Members to Read-Only (Teacher)

Many teachers choose to set their entire class to read-only status if their students are still learning about digital citizenship. Once a Class is set to read-only, students can see everything their teacher posts to the Class, but they cannot post directly themselves; they can only send direct messages to the teacher, submit assignments and quizzes, and respond to polls. To change an entire Class to read only, follow these steps:

  1. Select the Group from the left Sidebar.
  2. From the Class page, click the “Members” tab.
  3. At the top of the page, click the "Member Options."
  4. Select “Read-Only."

You can take all members off Read-Only at any time by clicking on "Member Options" and selecting “Contributor."  

Note: If you only would like to set individual students to read only, please see Set an Individual Member to Read Only.