Setting Members to Read-Only (Teacher)

Teachers have an option to set their class/group to a read-only status. Many teachers choose to set their entire class to read-only status if their students are still learning about digital citizenship. When a class/group is set to read-only, students can see everything their teacher posts to the Class/Group but they cannot post directly themselves. Students can always send Direct Messages to the teacher, submit Assignments and Quizzes, and respond to Polls. Setting members to read-only will support teachers to easily monitor their student(s) while ensuring they are still able to participate in the class activities.

Below are different options when setting your class/groups members to read-only:

To set an entire class/group to read-only:

  1. Navigate to the Class/Group desired
  2. Click on Members tab located in your left panel
  3. Click on More ellipsis.png located at the top of the member list page
  4. Select Set all Members too...Read-Only 
  5. Click Yes to confirm

To set an individual member to read-only:

  1. Navigate to the Class/Group desired
  2. Click on Members tab located in your left panel
  3. Click on More ellipsis.png next to the student's name
  4. Select Read-Only

2021-05-05_13-56-51__1_.gif

To set all new members to read-only:

  1. Navigate to the Class/Group desired
  2. Click on More ellipsis.png located in your class/group header
  3. Click Advanced Settings
  4. Select Default all new members to read-only 

2021-05-05_14-01-52__1_.gif