Understand Your Group Code

Your Group Code is the key for students to join your group or create an account. Providing students or teachers the Group Code is the easiest way to have them join your Group.

You can locate your Group Code under "Group Settings," where you can also lock, unlock, and reset it. Here is some key information about Group Codes:

  • Unlocked Group Codes will allow students to instantly join a Group or create an account.
  • Group Codes automatically lock 14 days after creating a group or resetting the code. Locked Group Codes can still be used to join a group. If a locked or an old code is used, the student will enter an approval queue, and the group owner will have to approve the Group Join Request.
  • The Group owner can unlock and reset the Group by clicking the "Lock" icon lock-locked.png next to the Group Code in the Group Settings window or clicking the down arrow next to the Group code in the upper right-hand corner of the Group page and choosing "Reset Code" or "Unlock Group."
  • Group Codes are one of two ways (in addition to the Join URL) that a student or teacher can join a Group. The Join URL is a link that, when entered in to the browser, will add students to an approval queue for the group owner to approve.