Teachers Leaving a School (Admins)

When a Teacher leaves a School or District, it's important for School and District Administrators to follow Best Practice Recommendations for Removing Members.

If you are a teacher who will no longer be working at your current school, you can easily update your school information on your Account Settings page. Before associating with your new school please make sure that you have removed access to your former students on Edmodo by one of the following methods:

  • Transfer Group Ownership - Transferring group ownership is a good option when the group will remain active after your departure. Simply contact us, and select "Creating, joining, or managing Groups." Archived groups can also be transferred to a new teacher.
  • Delete Groups - If the groups will no longer remain active, you should delete the groups that have student members.
  • Remove Students - If you’d like to keep reference to your personal posts in the group, you can remove former students from groups. Please note that this will remove all student work.

If you are the Admin of a School or District Network, you will want to work with your school or district to ensure that all teachers in your school or district network are current and valid teachers.

If a teacher is leaving your school or district with active groups, please reach out to the teacher and request that they remove access to their former students on Edmodo by performing one of the following:

  • Transfer Group Ownership - Transferring group ownership is a good option when the group will remain active after the teacher’s departure. Please ask the teacher to contact us, and select "Creating, joining, or managing Groups." Archived groups can also be transferred to another teacher.
  • Delete Groups - If the groups will no longer remain active, ask the teacher to delete the groups that have student members.
  • Remove students - If the teacher would like to keep a reference to their personal posts in the group, they can remove former students from groups. Please note that this will remove the ability for these students to communicate with their former teacher.

Once the teacher has removed their access to their former students by one of the three options above, remove the teacher from your school or district network to complete the process.

If teachers have left your school or district with active groups and you have been unable to contact those teachers for whatever reason, please contact us here and we will be happy to investigate next steps.