Archive Your Class or Group

Archiving a Class/Group is the best practice for when you are done with it (eg. the end of the year or grading period) because it freezes the Class/Group while preserving all of the data and activity. Once a Class or Group is archived, it is inactive. Students will still be able to view the Posts and Direct Message the Teacher-owner and Co-Teachers, but they will not be able to Post in the Class/Group or access shared Folders. All data is saved - you can easily view any Posts and reload any posted Quizzes or Assignments. You can also restore an archived class/group at any time, making it active again.  

 To archive a Class or Group:

  1. Select the Class or Group from the lefthand panel
  2. Select the more icon ellipsis.png on the right side of the group information panel
  3. Select Advanced Settings
  4. Select Archive at the bottom of the popup menu
  5. Click Yes to confirm 

Note: If you want to reuse the name of a Class/Group, be sure to rename the existing one before archiving it. You will not be able to create a new Class or Group with the same name as any existing or archived Classes and Groups. Your students will also continue to have access to their grades in the Progress area in an archived Class/Group.

2019-08-22_10-58-51__1_.gif