Archive Your Group

Archiving a Group is the best practice for when you are done with a Group (eg the end of the year or grading period) because it freezes the Group while preserving all of the data and activity. Once a Group is archived, it is inactive. Students will still be able to view the Group's Posts, and Direct Message the Group owner and Co-Teachers, but they will not be able to Post in the Group, or access Folders shared with the Group. All data from the Group is saved - you can easily view any Posts, and load any Quizzes or Assignments posted to the Group. You can also restore an archived group at any time, making it active again.  

 To archive a Group:

  1. Select the Group from the left Group Sidebar.
  2. Select the "Group Settings" icon on the right side of the middle panel.
  3. Select "Manage Group."
  4. Select "Archive Group."
  5. Click "Yes" to confirm when the pop up box appears.

Note: If you want to reuse the name of a Group, be sure to rename the existing Group before archiving it. You will not be able to create a new Group with the same name as any existing or archived Group. Your students will also continue to have access to their grades in the Progress area in an archived Group.